William Burroughs knows

Christiaan Tonnis ~ William S. Burroughs / Video / Laserprint / 2006

Until a couple of days ago, I was pretty psyched about the place where I currently live. Luminaries like Ike Turner and Angela Davis have called the Normandie Hotel home. The lobby’s beautiful, the rent’s reasonable (for L.A. standards), and the vibe is pretty hip. But what is decidedly unhip is the fact that there has been no water in the hotel for 6 days now. That means: no bathing, no hand-washing, no using the toilet. Thank god for my gym membership.

I’m not too sure what’s going on with the place. Apparently, one of the new owners moved back to San Francisco to be close to his boyfriends, and the other manager doesn’t seem to know too much about running a hotel. I’m starting to wonder whether the place is going to close down soon. So once again I’m having fantasies about owning my own home.

Coincidentally, yesterday I received a link from Bruce Germinsky, a realtor on the Jersey Shore. It looks like they’ve got some great properties all over New Jersey; and if I had any desire to live in that state, I’d probably get in touch with them.

But America’s getting me down right now. I keep thinking about this quote by William Burroughs:

“America is not so much a nightmare as a non-dream. The American non-dream is precisely a move to wipe the dream out of existence. The dream is a spontaneous happening and therefore dangerous to a control system set up by the non-dreamers.”

I’m a dreamer. I think I need to blow out of the States for a while, to keep my soul alive. Any suggestions as to a destination? Email me at gena@genamason.com.

Brought to you by your friends at http://www.bruce-germinsky-realtor.com.

Leave a Reply

